Flower Of The Year 2017

My most vivid childhood memories take me back to warm summers and fields full of wildflowers.

wild summer flowers - red poppies with chamomile and cornflowers
wild summer flowers – red poppies with chamomile and cornflowers

This summer it was a challenge to find fields with wild bursting flowers, even though I do live in a very green and flourishing area of Germany. This is one of the reasons I planted red poppies in my garden.

{Remember how I picked some for our apartment and they turned pink all of a sudden?}

red poppies
red poppies
red poppies
red poppies

This is also the reason why I am so happy the german Loki-Schmidt Trust has named red poppies as the Flower Of The Year 2017! Just look at their beauty and I cannot imagine fields without these colorful sprinkles!

red poppies
red poppies
red poppies
red poppies

So lets say goodbye to summer 2017, but not without paying tribute to one of the most wonderful flowers of 2017 ❤

red poppies
red poppies

SaveSave

Leave a Reply

