How to create a gallery print for your home

ANZEIGE

It feels like a milestone! No, let me start over: not only does it feel like one, it IS a milestone. At least to me it is! From this day on, I truly hope, you will enjoy traveling this road with me… I started developing my photographies as art prints now and I can’t stop…It’s captivating, it brings back precious memories and it adds so much beauty to our home that I can barely breathe when I look at it! Too much of a praise? Wait until you see the result! But let me start at the very beginning…

Anastasia Benko moody white roses print
Anastasia Benko moody white roses print

From a very early age my mom started to take me to museums, so the love for every kind of art is innate to me! Not only have I been a frequent visitor to museums – I have been a keen artist myself, but somehow only drawings and paintings were put down to paper. After my very first SLR camera broke at the age of 15 I never returned back to analogue photography. The absence of printed photo works must be the reason for my new found enthusiasm about those gallery prints! Ironically, I have been producing photographies all my life but never considered having art prints in my home.

A warm late summer weekend changed it all: it started in September, with a book.
This September weekend was all about photography: I created a workshop at the Photokina for a beautiful CEWE photography event. As a surprise or maybe more of a special treat CEWE printed a book with my work. It was one of their new products, a very large format with fine art paper. Indeed, this book wasn’t that simple at all. Everything about it, the size, the weight, the quality of the paper and the prints had the feel of the luxurious coffee-table books I was usually swooning over at book stores. What happened from there was simply magical! Everyone was so thrilled with the book, I even got multiple requests to produce a coffee-table book myself. So it felt only natural to CEWE and myself to start collaborating. CEWE is known for making high quality products at affordable prices and I am so proud to partner with them on my very first print collaboration. I had so much fun working on this gallery print and I truly hope, you feel the joy and you love it just as much as I do!

white roses floral arrangement
white roses floral arrangement

As a regular reader, you know I cherish every season, but ever since I started gardening, the end of summer, the end of flowering roses is really painful to me! It takes weeks to recover from having cut the last blooming rose. So this year I decided to capture the beauty of my favorite white roses for eternity!

white roses from the garden
white roses from the garden

As soon, as I realized that some of the roses were starting to fade, I cut off the prettiest heads and arranged them on a dark velvet background. This way I added a deep contrast to the installation and all the beauty came out even more.

arranging white roses on a dark background
arranging white roses on a dark background
arranging white roses on a dark background
arranging white roses on a dark background
arranging white roses on a dark background
arranging white roses on a dark background

As soon, as I realized that some of the roses were starting to fade, I cut off the prettiest heads and arranged them on a dark velvet background. This way I added a deep contrast to the installation and all the beauty came out even more. In the end I only had the choose my favorite gathering of white roses. In the end this was my favorite image:

moody white roses print
moody white roses print

I sat on it for a few days, as I always do with special images and every time my eyes kept going back to this one image. So in the end I knew that I had made the right decision with this lush collection of my favorite roses. This way I will never forget the variety of summer!

Once the gallery print was here, I could hardly contain my excitement and placed it on our black wall. This way the black background works as a frame and brings out the beauty even more! Having thought about placing different low furniture in front of the gallery print, I decided to only go with a few large vases as companions for this work of art. Dressing up for this occasion and wearing heels gives you a little insight of my celebration of this milestone 😉

Anastasia Benko moody white roses print, photo by: Christian Schäfer
Anastasia Benko moody white roses print, photo by: Christian Schäfer
Anastasia Benko moody white roses print
Anastasia Benko moody white roses print
Anastasia Benko moody white roses print
Anastasia Benko moody white roses print

TO CREATE YOUR OWN GALLERY PRINT, YOU NEED:

-beheaded roses or any other flower you like

-a dark background

-eventually you will need a few pins to secure the flowers

-styrofoam as a reflector

Spread your dark background ( in my case it was a dark green cloth of velvet). Once you cut the fading flowers from the stem, place them on the dark underground and arrange them as you like. Make sure to place your favorite flowers at a prominent spot this way you will always have them on your photo. If their ‘faces’ don’t look in the camera, you can also fix them with a few pins to your background. Rearrange the flowers until you love the composition and take a picture. I promise, there is no better feeling than having home made art in your home, you will love it!

2 thoughts on “How to create a gallery print for your home

    • Thanks so much, dear Georgie! I’ll look it up later when I’m at my computer again… thr things I know by heart are, that I always take pictures with my ‘L’ & RAW setting with my camera…hugs, A.XO

      Like

Leave a Reply

