Why my balcony looks like my living room now

Anzeige 

Empty baroque frames are one of my favorite things to decorate with – they add a breath of history – the tension between negative space and scale gives just the right amount of drama to interiors. So let me tell you the story why my balcony looks like my living room now.

DIY trellis for my clematis - painted with All White from Farrow & Ball
DIY trellis for my clematis – painted with All White from Farrow & Ball
white clematis
white clematis

I live in a 1960s bungalow, with the balcony facing the south. Sounds like a dream, except that up until this spring our balcony was hidden from the sun – by a large tree that was growing right next to the balcony. This year, for various reasons, we had to cut the tree and instantly the balcony turned into a light-flooded and sun kissed area.

cutting the tree in front of our balcony
cutting the tree in front of our balcony

As a huge flower lover you can imagine my excitement as I started to dream of all the possible and impossible options to grow sun loving flowers on my balcony. And like in every fairy tale, of course there was a huge obstacle! Because of the rather shadowy situation of the past, the balcony was not the prettiest corner to hang out. So now I decided to go with the light and underline the bright atmosphere. Two years ago I painted the bedroom with Farrow&Ball paint and I am still in awe when I enter the room. Because the balcony faces in the same direction as the bedroom, there was no doubt, that I wanted to use the gorgeous colors of Farrow&Ball again!

this is how the balcony looked before
this is how the balcony looked before
this is how the antique frame looked before I painted it with the outdoor paint 'ALL WHITE' from Farrow & Ball
this is how the antique frame looked before I painted it with the outdoor paint ‘ALL WHITE’ from Farrow & Ball

This April, on my trip to Milan, I had discovered the most wonderful outdoor furniture at Rossana Orlandi – one of the most influential design gallerists of the world. The climax of this story is, that I right after my return from Milan, I discovered almost the exact same furniture at an antique market and instantly knew that I wanted to transform the balcony into a white oasis. Its either because I was lacking light for so long on this balcony or simply because I wanted to experiment with white climbing flowers and create a mood of stillness and calm.

first I had to decide what colors to use - as they are all pretty from Farrow & Ball
first I had to decide what colors to use – as they are all pretty from Farrow & Ball

This outdoor furniture was love at first sight and I wanted to keep the vintage look with all the bruises, scratches and defects the white surface was showing. To underline the history and subtle beauty of the furniture I started looking at all the different hues of white colors for the surrounding walls… and had to go with ‚All White‘ – simply because of it’s sophisticated and subtle look! I wanted the vintage furniture to play the leading part and this naturally fresh white was the perfect partner to support this look!

shadow play from my new vintage outdoor furniture on a floor also painted with 'All White' from Farrow and Ball
shadow play from my new vintage outdoor furniture on a floor also painted with ‘All White’ from Farrow and Ball
DIY trellis for my clematis - painted with All White from Farrow & Ball
DIY trellis for my clematis – painted with All White from Farrow & Ball

To complement the All White look I decided to add some white accessories to the balcony and painted a wooden box and an antique metal frame. The paint is so good, that it easily covered the green color the box had before, not to mention the pink color the frame had before 😉
Of course there are conventional trellis on the market, but I wanted my clematis to climb up and grown in style, so I decided to divert the frame from the intended use and bring a little vintage flair to my now sunny oasis.

DIY trellis for my clematis - painted with All White from Farrow & Ball
DIY trellis for my clematis – painted with All White from Farrow & Ball

Now I can spend more time outside without compromising my love for antiques and vintage – I am still tremendously enamored by vintage interiors and and let me tell you, now I can take this love outside.

I hope you can also start to enjoy the first rays of sun, happy outdoor gardening!

A. XO

4 thoughts on “Why my balcony looks like my living room now

  1. Well done, Anastasia. It looks gorgeous. Love the white. Actually I have been looking for a shade of white to paint my living-room for quite some time. Have to go and get a sample.
    xx, Steph

    Like

    • It feels like only the beginning of a gorgeous summer so I bet, there will be more white additions like more flowers and an umbrella 😉 Have a great start to the week, dear! A. XO

      Like

Leave a Reply

