Minimum Input – Maximum Output

Werbung / Ad

Who knew that talking about design and driving around Berlin with the new Ford KA+ would bring back childhood memories? I certainly didn’t and I am glad that this trip with Thea of Sister Mag made me recall on how deeply rooted my love for design and aesthetics is! Before we started talking about contemporary design, she drew a secret from me: when I was a little girl, I remember making my own shampoo commercials! Even before I knew product design excited, I was recreating shampoo commercials, hiding ‘ugly’ spots with foam, trying to reinvent new aesthetics. It was always the details that caught my eye, even as a kid I was driven by a subconscious force to create beauty. Little did I know that my path would allow to share my knowledge and experience about design & aesthetics 20 years later for this cooperation with Sister Mag & Ford KA+. This short trip down memory lane illustrates how important it was to follow my visions, to play with my fantasy and imagination.

Ford KA+ cooperation with Sister Mag
Ford KA+ cooperation with Sister Mag

When to comes to creative work, intuition is key, but a thoroughly exercised education doesn’t hurt either. I was trained as an art historian before I started to work as a stylist and photographer. In the past years I learned to adapt all of the theoretical knowledge to my practical work and I exercise these design principles on a daily basis now. There are so many design principles to chose from and one could fill books to deepen this subject, but there are some design principles that I love to work with and they include contrast, variation of scale and variation of texture.

Ford KA+ cooperation with Sister Mag
Ford KA+ cooperation with Sister Mag

When driving around Berlin and I was asked what kind of design principles were the most important ones. I had to give it a thought, but I think there are no design principles, that are more important than others. Why? I think they all work well together, a happy bunch, adding beauty to the objects. When you think about contrast, for example, it does sound like a very trivial thing. Then again, without the addition of contrast to designs, things would look dull. Here we can see the contrast of matt and shiny surfaces, the contrast of colors and the contrast of textures that adds interest and character to the inside of the car.

Ford KA+ cooperation with Sister Mag
Ford KA+ cooperation with Sister Mag

Speaking of interesting objects: I am a big collector of all things pretty and not a single trip goes by, where I come home empty handed. When I go hunting for antique and vintage props, my tours often take me to the inner cities where parking space is often limited, especially in places like these I love a small city car that fits my lifestyle by being flexible and spacious. Thea even made a test where she proved how much the Ford KA+ could carry. You can watch the proof in this video here… Looks like I could fit a few antiques in this car, too 😉

Ford KA+ cooperation with Sister Mag
Ford KA+ cooperation with Sister Mag
Ford KA+ cooperation with Sister Mag
Ford KA+ cooperation with Sister Mag

The end of our trip around Berlin had to close with a frequent topic: form follows function – such an interesting issue in the design world! Again, it is a subject, that could fill numerous books. We live in very fortunate times where we can chose between all the different approaches to design, but it is like Thea said: “‘Less is more’ has become a general guiding principle as we strive to make as much as possible of very little.” I truly believe that big design arouses big emotions! A simple design can add a strong value to our lives, big design does not have to be extravagant.

Ford KA+ cooperation with Sister Mag
Ford KA+ cooperation with Sister Mag

 

If you would love to experience the theory of minimum input and maximum output, you can join the Ford KA+ giveaway here… Good luck and see you soon from other interesting cities another interesting design topics. A. XO

All photos by Cristopher Santos for Sister Mag.

 

Leave a Reply

