pale chalky blush wall

I have a studio that I painted white when we moved into the apartment where we live in now. It used to be my little white cube and I used to work in this studio for the past few years. But: north facing rooms can be very challenging for photography- especially during those winter months, when there is little to no light.  Over the past years I found new ways & places to work on my photography and realized, that this room was really wasted as a store room instead of being a real photo studio. I am very lucky to have this hideaway but I no longer wanted to use it as my storeroom, because working from a storage is never fun.

dried hydrangea on antique linen cloth
dried hydrangea on antique linen cloth

I love colors that have a dusty & chalky appearance. It immediately creates a relaxed and cozy atmosphere – this is what I wanted for my new home office. I wanted a peaceful shelter from where I can work for days & days, without getting distracted. This is why I decided to paint my walls first. Northern light tends to be bring out the cooler tones, I created a pale chalky blush with the smallest addition of yellow and a slight hint of black. This way the color of the walls will help the natural light to bounce back. What I have learned over the past years is, that it is best not to fight the nature, but to let the cool & dark light into the northern rooms and embrace it by painting the walls in a darker tone. I am not finished with this room yet but can show you a first impression. I could look at this wall color all day – and it truly is a pleasure to work in my new painted home office now.

pale blush interiors with an antique amphorae and dried hydrangea
pale blush interiors with an antique amphorae and dried hydrangea

 

Leave a Reply

