Exotic Beauty Heliconia

I have been working with flowers for years now and have never seen an online magazine as inspirational as The Green Gallery! Issue after issue they create a poetic world with flowers and plants & you can imagine my excitement when I was asked to create a few images for them ❤

Anastasia Benko for The Green Gallery - Heliconia Muse
Anastasia Benko for The Green Gallery – Heliconia Muse
Anastasia Benko for The Green Gallery - Heliconia Muse
Anastasia Benko for The Green Gallery – Heliconia Muse

Working with the exotic and colorful heliconia was certainly a new but great experience for me. Usually I don’t work with exotic plants – I like to go for a walk and most of the time I come back with foraged flowers, fruits and plants. There is no way I could pick a heliconia in the forest nearby.

Anastasia Benko for The Green Gallery - Heliconia Muse
Anastasia Benko for The Green Gallery – Heliconia Muse
Anastasia Benko for The Green Gallery - Heliconia Muse
Anastasia Benko for The Green Gallery – Heliconia Muse

In this case I was amazed how well the ‘foreign’ heliconia blended in with the flowers from my garden. I started experimenting with a kniphofia, geraniums and different shades of delphinium. I loved the mix of exotic and locally grown flowers – the heliconia was the perfect colorful addition.

Anastasia Benko for The Green Gallery - Heliconia Muse
Anastasia Benko for The Green Gallery – Heliconia Muse
Anastasia Benko for The Green Gallery - Heliconia Muse
Anastasia Benko for The Green Gallery – Heliconia Muse
Anastasia Benko for The Green Gallery - Heliconia Muse
Anastasia Benko for The Green Gallery – Heliconia Muse

I have been playing with these images a little and ran wild with a few filters. If you wish to see the images for the Green Gallery and browse the Muse Section, you can pay a visit here.

Leave a Reply

