Herbal tea from the garden

fresh herbs from the garden
fresh herbs from the garden

This spring I decided to enlarge the flowerbed in front of our house and it allows me to grow not only flowers but also herbs. YUM! I love to harvest the fast growing sage and mint. Also, there are so many dishes that I cannot imagine without fresh basil or thyme…

fresh herbs from the garden / Callwey 'Das vegetarische Kochbuch'
fresh herbs from the garden / Callwey ‘Das vegetarische Kochbuch’

Also, I planted lots of edible flowers & use them for salads and decoration.  It was only last year that I decided to eat less meat. I have been eating meat almost daily, all my life, and this is why my vegetarian cooking skills hit a limit pretty fast. I get tired looking up recipes on the internet and this is why I am so thankful I came across this award winning vegetarian cookbook. It is written in German but I would love to share one recipe I found very inspiring!

fresh herbs from the garden / Callwey 'Das vegetarische Kochbuch'
fresh herbs from the garden / Callwey ‘Das vegetarische Kochbuch

HERBAL TEA

3 bunches of mint (you can use different varieties of mint)

1/2 bunch bee balm

1/2 bunch vervain

5 stems sage

2 stems hyssop

2 stems oregano

20 marigold flowers

  • try to gather the herbs in the morning
  • remove the stems from the leaves and place the leaves on a large linen cloth
  • dry the leaves in a warm place without direct sunlight
  • when the leaves have dried, you can keep them in a jar
fresh herbs from the garden
fresh herbs from the garden

Without this gorgeous book I would have never thought of using marigold flowers for a herbal tea… I didn’t grow hyssop so I added purple basil and some cornflowers to my herbal tea. It was delicious and I will certainly dry some more herbs and flowers to use them for herbal tea. It is so rewarding to grow your own herbs and something that looks so pretty must be good for the body, right? I am only at the beginning with my gardening and vegetarian cooking skills, so can you share more tips with me? I’d love to hear what you grow and love to eat in your garden!
A. XO

Leave a Reply

