Pastel summer arrangement

The most wonderful part of my job as a stylist is to play with flowers. On a daily basis! Especially, when a commissioned job asks for a variety of more than 5 flowers. Imagine my excitement, as I could run wild with this floral arrangement I made for tollwasblumenmachen.de. Pure joy! Pure pastel joy!

pastel summer flower arrangement with white hydrangea, roses, Queen Anne's lace, foxgloves, heuchera // stylist Anastasia Benko
pastel summer flower arrangement with white hydrangea, roses, Queen Anne’s lace, foxgloves, heuchera // stylist Anastasia Benko

As long as I can remember, elegant and official flower arrangements, especially wedding bouquets required noble roses and fancy grown flowers. A while back I noticed, that elegant flower shops started to sell more and more wild flowers, like yarrow and Queen Anne’s lace.

pastel summer flower arrangement with white hydrangea, roses, Queen Anne's lace, foxgloves, heuchera // stylist Anastasia Benko
pastel summer flower arrangement with white hydrangea, roses, Queen Anne’s lace, foxgloves, heuchera // stylist Anastasia Benko
pastel summer flower arrangement with white hydrangea, roses, Queen Anne's lace, foxgloves, heuchera // stylist Anastasia Benko
pastel summer flower arrangement with white hydrangea, roses, Queen Anne’s lace, foxgloves, heuchera // stylist Anastasia Benko

I have the most wonderful flower shop in my neighborhood and I have been a faithful customer for over 25 years! They have always been ahead of time when I look back on their designs. But as a small business {especially in a suburban neighborhood} you cannot be as experimental as you might want to be. Of course florists cannot reinvent the wheel, as the flowers we all use for our arrangements have been there for centuries. BUT – and here is the interesting part – I had a long chat with the owner of this favorite shop of mine: she said, that it’s only in the past few years she was able to offer wild grown flowers to her customers! Finally, they realized, that those wild growing beauties like yarrow and cornflowers are not the ugly ducklings that accidentally grow on the roadside. Their customers even ask for different varieties of Queen Anne’s lace now! How wonderful is that? I bet, you think it’s pretty fantastic too! To get you imagination going I made a gorgeous Pinterest board with all of my favorite wild flowers. I believe, that wild flowers and field-grown roses are the most delicate thing you can use for a flower arrangement, especially for a summer arrangement like this! I really love the shift from formal looking arrangements to more wilder, natural looking bouquets! Looking at these arrangements makes you feel, like you have the entire summer in a bowl!

pastel summer flower arrangement with white hydrangea, roses, Queen Anne's lace, foxgloves, heuchera and everlasting pea // stylist Anastasia Benko
pastel summer flower arrangement with white hydrangea, roses, Queen Anne’s lace, foxgloves, heuchera and everlasting pea // stylist Anastasia Benko
pastel summer flower arrangement with white hydrangea, roses, Queen Anne's lace, foxgloves, heuchera and everlasting pea // stylist Anastasia Benko
pastel summer flower arrangement with white hydrangea, roses, Queen Anne’s lace, foxgloves, heuchera and everlasting pea // stylist Anastasia Benko

If you would like to know, how I put this flower arrangement plucked from my pastel dreams – here is a little recipe:

my basis, cut from the garden:

white goatsbeard
yellow heuchera leaves
slightly purple blooms of another heuchera

flowers bought on the market or in the flower shop:

white and pink Queen Anne’s lace
field-grown roses from the market in white, pale yellow and dusty pink & pastel lavender
pale yellow foxgloves
white hydrangea
everlasting pea
pink cornflowers
purple verbena bonariensis
deep purple salvia

pastel summer flower wreath with white roses, pale roses, cornflowers, bellflowers, yarrow and  Queen Anne's lace, foxgloves, heuchera // stylist Anastasia Benko
pastel summer flower wreath with white roses, pale roses, cornflowers, bellflowers, yarrow and Queen Anne’s lace, foxgloves, heuchera // stylist Anastasia Benko
pastel summer flower arrangement with white hydrangea, roses, Queen Anne's lace, foxgloves, heuchera and everlasting pea // stylist Anastasia Benko
pastel summer flower arrangement with white hydrangea, roses, Queen Anne’s lace, foxgloves, heuchera and everlasting pea // stylist Anastasia Benko

How to create a pastel summer arrangement:

1. I used an eggshell vessel with a large opening to make sure it could fit as many flowers as I wanted. To support the flowers I put chicken-wire inside the vessel to give the arrangement a proper foundation. Naturally I payed attention to the color of the vessel, as also this underlines the beautiful pastel color palette of the floral arrangement.

2. As a basis for the bouquet I started with the larges blooms – I used white goatsbeard, that I got from my garden. With the feathery white blooms, it’s certainly a statement flower! Another gorgeous and big headed flower I used for the basis, is the white hydrangea. The yellow heuchera leaves, underneath the hydrangea, finalized the basis and after that I could start to arrange the rest of the pastel colored flowers.

3. If a flower had green leaves, I tried to remove all the leaves from the stems, as I wanted to focus on the soft tones of the blossoms.

4. To make sure, that the soft and dreamy combination of pastel colors would create a delicate summer arrangement, I added all these white, soft yellow, pale pink, blush colored flowers by turns. I created little islands by alternating layers of white, soft yellow and pale pink to achieve the most airy summer look.

5. In the end, I added the lavender and purple colored flowers to set a few accents to the arrangement – in the end the deep purple accents make the other colors shine more!

6. Additionally to the soft color palette, I made sure to use flowers with a lace-like texture and a more natural look. For example, the goatsbeard and Queen Anne’s lace with their ruffled blooms are a perfect example for romantic textures. The untamed growing blooms of the everlasting pea create a more wild and natural look. What I love most about the field-grown roses, is their remarkable beauty, underlined by little unperfections. They are far from perfect and in my eyes this give the bouquet a very charming look.

pastel summer flower arrangement with white hydrangea, roses, Queen Anne's lace, foxgloves, heuchera and everlasting pea // stylist Anastasia Benko
pastel summer flower arrangement with white hydrangea, roses, Queen Anne’s lace, foxgloves, heuchera and everlasting pea // stylist Anastasia Benko

If you have been a faithful reader of this blog, you know that I am a big big forager of all things botanical. But not everyone has the time or the opportunity to go for a long walk to collect wild flowers. Just like me in this exact case: I came back from a gorgeous vacation from Denmark, wanted to have fresh flowers in my home right away but I didn’t have the time to go for a long walk to collect flowers. So this is why I am bubbling over with happiness, that my favorite yarrow and Queen Anne’s lace can now be found in flower shops around the corner…{I can only speak for the german shops, as I have not enough experience on flower shops in other countries, so please let me know how your experience was/is on access to flowers that usually grow wild}

pastel summer flower arrangement with white hydrangea, roses, Queen Anne's lace, foxgloves, heuchera and everlasting pea // stylist Anastasia Benko
pastel summer flower arrangement with white hydrangea, roses, Queen Anne’s lace, foxgloves, heuchera and everlasting pea // stylist Anastasia Benko

Please let me add that those wild summer flowers do last a week in a vase! Those pastel summer beauties are definitely worth picking up when you spot them at your local florist!
This post is brought to you in cooperation with tollwasblumenmachen.de

3 thoughts on “Pastel summer arrangement

  1. Oh so pretty dearest Anastasia…
    I can’t stop looking at all the beautiful flowers. I think your stunning floral arrangements make a lovely alternative to the typical flower bouquets and arrangements. I love that wild flowers are more and more appreciated these days. I’ve also noticed some ‘wild’ varieties at florists here too.
    I love your gorgeous floral creations. So dainty and pretty with a sense of romance…beyond beautiful!
    Thank you so much for sharing.
    Lots of love xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

