OUR COUNTRYSIDE GETAWAY TO DENMARK – PT. 2

Welcome back to the 2nd part of our countryside getaway! You might know from the 1st part that we went to beautiful Denmark this summer! What a wild flower paradise!

fog over meadow, Denmark
fog over meadow, Denmark
wild meadow, Denmark
wild meadow, Denmark

No matter, how stressed I am before my travels, it ALWAYS brings me closer to my true self! It’s not that I don’t know who I am or that I forget it at times, no… Even though I try to live every day to the fullest, I am guilty of getting trapped in every day life. Sometimes there is so much to do, that I get stressed! By stressed I mean so exhausted that even the nicest appointments seem to be a burden.

fog over wild meadow, wild floral wreath
fog over wild meadow, wild floral wreath

As an artist I depend on my creativity. Sometimes, when times get busy and overwhelming, it is devastating to see I only perform half as well as I could. Traveling is one of my personal secrets to escape this daily routine. Duh! Nothing new, you’d say. Of course this is not new… It goes without saying that vacations are good to unwind and to reload our batteries.

vintage wire basket with wild flowers, foraged in Denmark
vintage wire basket with wild flowers, foraged in Denmark
moody floral photography, back vase with Silene, foraged in Denmark
moody floral photography, back vase with Silene, foraged in Denmark
wild lupine, moody floral photography, foraged in Denmark
wild lupine, moody floral photography, foraged in Denmark

The most surprising part of traveling is, that it always takes me to unexpected places – personally and professionally. It’s often afterwards I see the things that have had a huge impact on me. It could be a week after my vacation, also it could be half a year later when I apply something to my work or my personal life that I adapted on my travels.

wild roses foraged in Denmark, moody flower photography
wild roses foraged in Denmark, moody flower photography
moody floral photography
moody floral photography
wild roses foraged in Denmark, moody flower photography
wild roses foraged in Denmark, moody flower photography
wild roses foraged in Denmark, moody flower photography
wild roses foraged in Denmark, moody flower photography

This time I knew, that this vacation would have a significant impact on my life, as one of my dearest friends lives in Denmark and I was lucky enough to visit her in her gooooooooorgeous home. I am speaking of Mette from monsterscircus. We have been very good friends for a few years now & have been on many creative journeys together. Last year we met in person and I was more than happy to be able to see her again this summer! I was memorizing every second of the day we spend together!

moody wild flower arrangement with bachelor buttons, foxgloves, wild carrot, wild roses
moody wild flower arrangement with bachelor buttons, foxgloves, wild carrot, wild roses
moody wild flower arrangement with bachelor buttons, foxgloves, wild carrot, wild roses
moody wild flower arrangement with bachelor buttons, foxgloves, wild carrot, wild roses
moody wild flower arrangement with bachelor buttons, foxgloves, wild carrot, wild roses
moody wild flower arrangement with bachelor buttons, foxgloves, wild carrot, wild roses

To you this might look like a simple photo of a wild flower arrangement – to me it’s one of the most beautiful gifts I have ever recieved! All the bazillions of cornflowers are from Mette’s garden!

moody wild flower arrangement with bachelor buttons, foxgloves, wild carrot, wild roses
moody wild flower arrangement with bachelor buttons, foxgloves, wild carrot, wild roses

I knew, her home would be beautiful – but this day I spend with Mette left me in awe! Every corner, and I repeat, EVERY corner in her home is filled with beauty! Even better than this { you might say: is there a climax to these praises?! Yes, there is!}: Her home is filled with so much LOVE – as she is one of the kindest, most talented, funniest, loving & caring ladies I had the pleasure to meet! A woman, overflowing with beauty inside and out and A TRUE ARTIST AND A TRUE FRIEND! A TRUE FRIEND AND A TRUE ARTIST!

‘Her talent, grace and work ethic play in a league of their own!’

This is a quote I stole from Adele commenting on worshipping Beyonce, but I will take
this trip and especially this day with Mette as my inspiration! Knowing you, Mette,  makes me a better person! And I will grow more cornflowers next year! I do have a few cornflowers in my garden now, but I am afraid to cut those as they always remind me of this gorgeous trip to Denmark now… I I want these cornflowers and my memories last as long, as possible.

I hope you can bring inspiring stories back from your travels this summer!

A. XO

2 thoughts on “OUR COUNTRYSIDE GETAWAY TO DENMARK – PT. 2

Leave a Reply

