Our countryside getaway to Denmark – pt. 1

Danish landscapes, dunes in Rømø, Denmark
Danish landscapes, dunes in Rømø, Denmark
midsommer midsømmar wreath made with wild foraged flowers
midsommer midsømmar wreath made with wild foraged flowers
Danish landscapes, dunes in Rømø, Denmark
Danish landscapes, dunes in Rømø, Denmark

Originally our summer vacation was scheduled for August, bur after all of our schedules got messed up, we preposed our summer vacation, packed our things, grabbed my cousin and two good friends and went to to the beautiful island Rømø! So we just got back from this very very spontaneous trip to the beautiful country of Denmark and let me tell you, it was the most perfect countryside getaway!

Danish landscapes, dunes in Rømø, Denmark
Danish landscapes, dunes in Rømø, Denmark
wild flower arrangement with lupine
wild flower arrangement with lupine
floral Installation with cornflower, allium, wild carrot
floral Installation with cornflower, allium, wild carrot
wild floral Arrangement with daisies, lupine
wild floral Arrangement with daisies, lupine

Picking wild flowers is like meditation to me, nothing can beat a walk in the nature, especially not a walk that takes me home with a whole bunch of freshly foraged flowers.
I remember being soo worried about the fact, whether there will be flowers that I could pick or not… I’ve never been to that part of Denmark and I was so stressed out before we left, that all I wanted was to take long walks in the nature and collect some wild flowers! This is the fuel I need to restore my creative batteries!

wild floral arrangement with silene, field scabiosa
wild floral arrangement with silene, field scabiosa

Looking back, it is almost funny that I was worried about the wild flowers, as I found an even bigger variety of wild growing flowers than I have here in my neighborhood in Germany.

Here are only a few wild growing flowers I found:

lupinus nootkatensis
vicia cracca
silene vulgaris
armeria marittima
achillea millefolium
trifolium pratense
galium verum
campanula rotundifolia
digitalis purpurea
matricaria maritima
lonicera periclymenum
jasione montana
knautia arvensis
eriophorum
cirsium arvense
centaurea scabiosa
allium sphaerocephalon
centaurea cyanus

I will split my little summer documentation into two parts as there are the bright & airy summer arrangements and the moody ones, that I will show you in pt.2. In the meantime I hope you enjoy looking through these light filled images…

rustic bouquet made with cotton grass
rustic bouquet made with cotton grass
wild floral Arrangement with daisies, lupine
wild floral Arrangement with daisies, lupine
rustic natural floral arrangement with yarrow and bedstraw
rustic natural floral arrangement with yarrow and bedstraw

Happy foraging and enjoy your summer!
A. XO

One thought on “Our countryside getaway to Denmark – pt. 1

  1. Pingback: OUR COUNTRYSIDE GETAWAY TO DENMARK – PT. 2

Leave a Reply

