Iris & Wisteria Spring flower arrangement

I grew up in the Ukraine and one of my most cherished memory goes back to the summers I spend with my most wonderful grandma at our ‚dacha‘. This was our seasonal second home where we grew our own fruits, vegetables and flowers! I was outdoors all summer, helping my beloved granny plant new strawberries or potatoes. Luckily my dear grandma loved flowers as much as I did and we planted peonies, daisies and my favorite irises. In fact I think it was her, who instilled a passion for flowers in me. There was no better feeling than to go home with a bucket full of strawberries or a bouquet of peonies.

spring flower arrangement with wisteria, iris and roses / stylist Anastasia Benko
spring flower arrangement with wisteria, iris and roses / stylist Anastasia Benko

When my mom and I moved to Germany, my granny visited and brought a few rhizomes from our dacha. She also planted peonies, but that might be another column 😉 With this background you might understand my excitement when I woke up to a full blooming iris today and why I am really looking forward to share this special arrangement with you!

iris floral photography / stylist Anastasia Benko
Prociris floral photography / stylist Anastasia Benko

I instantly knew that I wanted to design a centerpiece around this pale blue wonder, so this was my starting point. I focused on white and lavender colors to create a balanced look and went collecting flowers from the garden and the nearby forest, so all the flowers you see in this arrangement were either collected from the garden or foraged in the forest {like the wild garlic & wild chervil}.

spring flowers spiraea and wisteria / stylist Anastasia Benko
spring flowers spiraea and wisteria / stylist Anastasia Benko

If you wish to make this kind of arrangement at home, you will need:

a vase, chicken wire, pliers {to cut the wire}, tape {to fix the wire to the vase}, clean and sharp garden shears, the flowers I used were:

Iris

Wisteria

Wild Chervil

Wild Garlic

Columbine

Roses

Spiraea

spring flowers columbine and pale pink rose  / stylist Anastasia Benko
spring flowers columbine and pale pink rose / stylist Anastasia Benko

Once I got home, I prepared the vase and put in some chicken wire and fresh water. If the vase  you are using is not deep enough, you can fix the chicken wire with clear tape to vase so you have a solid ground to work with.

preparing for large spring arrangement with chicken wire/ stylist Anastasia Benko
preparing for large spring arrangement with chicken wire/ stylist Anastasia Benko

I started with the wisteria because these were the biggest pieces to the arrangement, also they are fairly heavy so they needed to be fixed first. As you can see, I put the branches in all the corners of the arrangement. Not only do they provide balance, but they also give a structure to the centerpiece.

Wisteria DIY floral arrangement/& stylist Anastasia Benko
Wisteria DIY floral arrangement/& stylist Anastasia Benko

Because the wisteria has very woody stems, I clipped up the center so the stem can absorb the water it really needs. Also, make sure to cut each flower before you put it into the water, this helps to preserve the beauty of the flowers even longer.

Step by step I added the Spiraea. Once I had a full clustered base I added the Iris. This time I wanted the focal flowers to be in the middle, so the main actors can be seen at first glance.

Wisteria DIY floral arrangement/& stylist Anastasia Benko
Wisteria DIY floral arrangement/& stylist Anastasia Benko

To add an interesting touch, I placed more columbines, wild garlic and wild chervil in lots of layers and the wild flowers added a beautiful depth to the arrangement. The last flowers I added were a few roses, just because they were blooming too and I couldn’t resist their cute faces 🙂 In the end you can see how the whites and the lavender colored flowers underline the beauty of the Iris. They become a loose and airy frame to this pale and elegant beauty and make the eye wander from flower to flower.

spring flower arrangement with wisteria, iris and roses / stylist Anastasia Benko
spring flower arrangement with wisteria, iris and roses / stylist Anastasia Benko

I hope you enjoyed walking virtually with me through our yard and the nearby forest and making this arrangement with me. I will be enjoying every second of the blooming Iris,

have a great early summer,

A. XO

Leave a Reply

